ICC T20 World Cup Winners in History 2007-2024

T20 World Cup Winners List

ICC T20 World Cup Winners: The ICC T20 World Cup, a premier international championship of Twenty20 cricket, has seen thrilling competitions since its inception in 2007. This article provides a comprehensive overview of the tournament’s winners, highlighting key moments and performances from each edition.

T20 World Cup Results and Winners

YearHost(s)Final VenueWinnerWinning ScoreResultRunner-upRunner-up ScoreWinning Captain
2007South AfricaWanderers Stadium, JohannesburgIndia157/5 (20 overs)India won by 5 runsPakistan152 all out (19.4 overs)MS Dhoni
2009EnglandLord’s, LondonPakistan139/2 (18.4 overs)Pakistan won by 8 wicketsSri Lanka138/6 (20 overs)Younis Khan
2010West IndiesKensington Oval, BridgetownEngland148/3 (17 overs)England won by 7 wicketsAustralia147/6 (20 overs)Paul Collingwood
2012Sri LankaR Premadasa Stadium, ColomboWest Indies137/6 (20 overs)West Indies won by 36 runsSri Lanka101 all out (18.4 overs)Daren Sammy
2014BangladeshSher-e-Bangla Stadium, DhakaSri Lanka134/4 (17.5 overs)Sri Lanka won by 6 wicketsIndia130/4 (20 overs)Lasith Malinga
2016IndiaEden Gardens, KolkataWest Indies161/6 (19.4 overs)West Indies won by 4 wicketsEngland155/9 (20 overs)Daren Sammy
2021UAE, OmanDubai International Stadium, DubaiAustralia173/2 (18.5 overs)Australia won by 8 wicketsNew Zealand172/4 (20 overs)Aaron Finch
2022AustraliaMelbourne Cricket Ground, MelbourneEngland138/5 (19 overs)England won by 5 wicketsPakistan137/8 (20 overs)Jos Buttler
2024West Indies, United StatesKensington Oval, Bridgetown

Key Moments from Each Edition

2007 – India: The inaugural T20 World Cup saw India emerging victorious under the captaincy of MS Dhoni. The final against Pakistan was a nail-biting encounter, with India clinching the title by a narrow margin of 5 runs.

Score More:  2024 T20 World Cup All Team Squads and Players List

2009 – Pakistan: Pakistan, led by Younis Khan, secured their first T20 World Cup title by defeating Sri Lanka at Lord’s, London. Pakistan chased down the target of 139 with ease, winning by 8 wickets.

2010 – England: England claimed their maiden ICC tournament win in the T20 World Cup held in the West Indies. Paul Collingwood’s side triumphed over Australia by 7 wickets in the final at Kensington Oval.

2012 – West Indies: Under Daren Sammy’s leadership, the West Indies won their first T20 World Cup by defeating Sri Lanka in Colombo. Their comprehensive win by 36 runs was highlighted by Marlon Samuels’ stellar performance.

2014 – Sri Lanka: Sri Lanka, captained by Lasith Malinga, won their first T20 World Cup by defeating India in Dhaka. The victory was sweet revenge for their loss in the 2012 final.

2016 – West Indies: The West Indies became the first team to win the T20 World Cup twice, with Daren Sammy again leading the side. Their thrilling 4-wicket win over England in Kolkata was sealed by Carlos Brathwaite’s four consecutive sixes in the final over.

2021 – Australia: Australia won their first T20 World Cup in Dubai by defeating New Zealand. Aaron Finch led the Aussies to an 8-wicket victory, successfully chasing 173 runs with more than an over to spare.

2022 – England: England, under Jos Buttler’s captaincy, won their second T20 World Cup by beating Pakistan at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. They chased down the modest target of 138 with 5 wickets in hand.

Score More:  Top 10 Most Run Scorer in T20I Cricket in 2024

T20 World Cup 2024

The 2024 ICC T20 World Cup is set to be co-hosted by the West Indies and the United States, with the final scheduled to take place at Kensington Oval in Bridgetown. Cricket fans around the world are eagerly anticipating another exciting chapter in T20 World Cup history.